Note: this post is not my normal polished work of art and had to be posted anyway for reasons that will be evident.

OK, so I started a new job about three weeks ago.  I’m working for a great company in Salt Lake City that sells entertainment solutions revolving around television, internet, and phone service.

I’m in their home sales door-to-door division.

Resistance is Futile

Resistance

I guess there is a reason people hate working door to door sales and also have a hard time with door to door salesmen.

No one wants to be “sold” on an idea or thing.

I hate the feeling of being “sold” on something.

I guess that is why I have been struggling of late to get to work.

See, I value my reputation highly and do my level best to be completely honest in my business dealings.

I know my honesty has cost me some sales and will probably cost some in the future as well.

I love to talk to people and help them where I can.  I consider myself a problem solver and I only want to present solutions.

I know the solutions I offer are not for everyone.  That’s totally cool.

I’ve been experiencing what some artists and creative folks call resistance.

Resistance is what keeps you from doing what you should be doing.

It keeps paintings from being made, books from being written, and countless other creative and worthwhile endeavors from going forward.

What is your art?

I am not currently working in my chosen art or field of endeavor yet I am getting closer to that goal every day.

Resistance takes a million different forms and styles.  Sometimes it appears as excuses, minor illnesses, or other maladies real or imagined that stop your progress.

I have been feeling lightheaded, a little sick, indecisive, and scared of people.

For those of you who know me, this is not normal.

I have found these symptoms actually go away when I get to work, knock on a door, and talk to people.

This post is my public declaration that Resistance is futile.  It will not keep me from working and living my dreams.

I will continue to march forward toward my dream job, while helping people to be the best they can be.

People are really quite nice when you talk to them about what they want, like, enjoy, and how you can help them achieve their goals.

My job requires that I talk about entertainment and information needs, but the larger conversation I try to have with people is that I care about them.

First and foremost, each and every person I talk to is a person.  They have needs, wants, dreams, and desires.  I do my best to be sensitive to their needs and help ease their way.

I treat people like people.

In the heat of the moment, the resistance/fear is very real and can be paralyzing.

The image with this post is of Star Trek’s Jean-Luc Picard after assimilation into the Borg.  The Borg would tell the humans “resistance is futile”.

The Borg are a race of cyborgs that consume and assimilate living organisms they think are useful to their purpose.  Pretty scary stuff, if it were real.

When you are trapped by your resistance, it can seem that you are facing insurmountable odds that will destroy all that you hold dear.  Like the Borg.

When you perform your art or stand in your strength, you will find that your fears are not real.  They are imaginary and blown out of proportion to reality.

I continue to find out that my fears are actually no big deal at all, much like the imaginary Borg when I turn off the TV.

What will you do to make your resistance futile?

Comments Welcome

